Weeping Water Nebraska
The regular meeting of the Mayor and City Council of the City of Weeping Water was convened
in open and public session at 6:00 p.m. on December 11, 2006 at City Hall. Mayor Howard
Stubbendieck called the meeting to order and announced the location of a posting of the
Nebraska Open Meetings Act. Council members answering roll were Bob McCaulley, Melody
Falcone, Mitch Miller and Ray Frew. Absent: None. Notice of the meeting was given in advance thereof by posting in three public places on
December 8, 2006. Minutes of the November 13, 2006 meeting were approved as written.
Under Open Forum: Jon Carey addressed the Council with continued concerns in regard to alley
maintenance, with no additional action being taken. Brian Gegg discussed the potential for
economic development in the Weeping Water area, which will continue to be pursued.

The Monthly Police Activity Report was presented, in which it was noted that 188 ho urs were
patrolled during the month resulting in 35 calls of service with 6 citations and 14 warnings being

Representatives of the Fire Department were present to provide an update on previously
addressed safety issues. It was noted that newly elected officers of the department for the
ensuing year are Fire Chief- Earnest West, 1st Assistant Chief- Daryl Ervin, 2nd Assistant Chief-
Rex Schreiner, President-Brad Schreiner, Vice President-Randy Jones, Secretary/Treasurer-Jerry Markham, and Training Officer-Justin Backhaus, which met with full council approval.

Copies of the Monthly Water/Wastewater Report and Maintenance Report were presented for
council review, in the absence of Bruce Sorensen and Rob Bauers, respectively.
Monthly Health Board activities resulted in a review of previously addressed properties. Motion
by McCaulley, seconded by Miller to adopt Resolution No. 06-07. authorizing the removal of
bushes, which are an obstruction to vision at the corner of Adams and Mulberry Streets. Motion
carried unanimously. Members of the Council were informed of a recent assessment of railroad
property conditions.

Motion by Frew, seconded by Miller to authorize an hourly compensation of $11.00 per hour for
Humane Officer, Julie Donham, in addition to previously allowed fees for mileage and animal
impoundment. Motion carried unanimously.
Members of the Council were advised that the previous approval of the bid for repair of the
southwest buttress of the Library Building only included tuck pointing of the buttress and not
removal and repair of the same. Therefore, action on proceeding with repairs of the building was
tabled until spring.

Following review of a proposal for modification of the Weeping Water Trail Project, prepared by
Olsson Associates, it was agreed to proceed with presentation of the proposal to the Trail
Enhancement Program. Based upon the recommendation of the City Attorney, it was agreed to
proceed with filing suit against Jacobson Helgoth Consultants, the previous project engineer, for
failure to supply requested documents.
No additional information was available on the uncompleted street repairs and the proposed
brush/compost site.

It was agreed to continue the proper measures for the pursuit of annexation of an area outlying
the west city limit boundary to allow for industrial growth. It was further agreed to request a
feasibility study of the Planning Board for annexation of additional areas for development.
Motion by Miller, seconded by Falcone to authorize the City Attorney to prepare a Resolution, to
be considered at the January meeting, which would outline measures to establish an Economic
Development Committee. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Falcone, seconded by McCaulley to approve the revised Rural Fire Agreement as
presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Miller, seconded by Frew to approve the new state approved mileage rate of 48.5
cents per mile, effective January 1, 2007. Motion carried unanimously.

Members of the Council were advised of appropriate official approval of the First Amendment to
the Ash Grove Lease Agreement, which revises the annual payment for lease of the ground
occupied as the “upper ball field” to $10.00 per year for a period of twenty years.

Other items discussed were the need to consider an assessment of appropriate stop signs, and
visibility concerns on the corner of Barnett and Shryder, both of which will continue to be

Correspondence received was presented for review and discussion.

As part of the annual reorganization meeting, the City Attorney administered the Oath of Office
to Howard Stubbendieck, who was re-elected as Mayor, and Mitch Miller and Melody Falcone,
who were re-elected to the City Council. The Mayor then recommended the following
appointments and standing committees for the ensuing year, which met with full council
approval: Maintenance Supt.-Robert W. Bauers Jr.; City Clerk/Treasurer-Kay Gerdes; City
Attorney-Firm of Svoboda & Chebatoris; City Engineer-Olsson Associates; Water/Sewer
Maintenance-contracted through PeopleService; Law Enforcement-contracted through the Cass
County Sheriff’s Department; Mayor-Howard Stubbendieck; City Council-Robert McCaulley,
Melody Falcone, Mitchell Miller and Ray Frew; Council President-Ray Frew; Water/Sewer
Committee-Melody Falcone and RobertMcCaulley; Streets/Alleys Committee-Ray Frew and
Mitchell Miller; Finance Committee-Mayor, Clerk and City Council Members. A review of the
list of City Board and Commissions was made, in which it was noted that the following have
agreed to term reappointments: Planning Board-Randall Beins; Library Board-Renee Hart
Thakur; Communications Board-Chuck Cook; Ballteam Committee-Ron Hermann, Chad Heath,
Mike Barrett, Tracy Wipf, and Carol Thomassen; Housing Authority- Pam McCaulley.

Board/Committee replacements for vacancies as a result of resignations included: William
Cover-Planning Board replacing Terry Meeske; Sharon Crosby- Library Board, replacing Irene
Michelsen; Earnest West-Communication Board replacing Aaron Eckley; Sheri Wilson-Ballteam
Committee, replacing Dawn Bickford and Art Davis-City Lake Committee, replacing John
Wessels. It was agreed to also add Jerry Smith to the City Lake Committee.

Motion by McCaulley, seconded by Miller to accept the following claims: Salaries-6321.68;
Aflac, emp ben-26.62; Alltel, util-91.70; Ameritas, emp ben-672.01; Aquila, util-460.83;
Farmers & Merchants Bank, whlg, s/c-1715.01; Kansas State Bank, equip pmt-770.62; Nebr.
Department of Revenue, whlg-189.97; OPPD, util-2909.67; Svoboda & Chebatoris, prof-300.00;
United Healthcare, ins-1559.04; Windstream, util-495.84; Paving Bond pmt-5897.50; Chamber
of Commerce, mtg-12.00; K. Gerdes, reimb-31.95; Snow Dog Printing, sup-167.42; Meeske
Hardware, rep/maint-190.09; Keckler Oil Co., fuel, 360.68; Meeske Auto Parts, rep-229.56;
Hannebaum Grain, sup-2500.00; Asphalt Maintenance Inc., st imp-11,500; Olsson Associates,
prof-1199.51; L. Sorensen Trucking, maint-169.40; Cass County Sheriff, prof-2711.80; R & S
Heating, rep-89.00; Alliance Medical, sup-310.58; Southeast Com. College, trng-395.01;
Linweld, sup-53.70; Lifeguard MD Inc., equip pmt-3252.69; Dale P. Nielsen, rep-50.00; Lawn
Order, rep/maint-430.78; Baker & Taylor Books, bks-335.01; Xerox Corp., maint-15.00; Seventeen, bks-15.00; WW Public Library, bk reimb-90.00; Great Plains One Call, serv-9.09;
Bickford Electric, rep-90.00; Concrete Industries, rep-101.15; WW StoneWorks, imp pmt-
2000.00; A. Bauers Trucking, trkg-150.00; WW Express Lane, fuel-184.87; EMS Billing, reimb-
520.43; Fremont National Bank, prof-450.00; J. Donham, animal cont.-41.98; Cass County
Election Commission, elec fees-94.54. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Falcone seconded by McCaulley to adjourn. Motion carried unanimously.

/s/ Howard Stubbendieck, Mayor
/s/ Kay Gerdes, City Clerk