Weeping Water Nebraska




DECEMBER 9, 2013


            Mayor Howard Stubbendieck called the monthly meeting of the Weeping Water City Council to order at 6:00 p.m., on December 9, 2013 at City Hall with the following members of the Council answering roll: Lawrence Mozena, Ray Frew, Kelly Nutter and Mitch Miller. Absent: None. Notice of the meeting was given in advance thereof by publication in the December 5, 2013 edition of the Plattsmouth Journal. The posted location of the Open Meeting Act was noted by the Mayor, and the minutes of the November 11, 2013 meeting were approved as presented.

            Under Open Forum, concerned citizens discussed recent crime issues and requested that the City Council consider some type of alternative law enforcement to deter the same.

            Monthly Reports: Fire/Rescue-1 Fire call during the month for traffic control; 9 Rescue calls were made during the month resulting in a total of 74.79 man hours. It was noted that the new rescue squad is now in service and that the secondary unit is temporarily out of service for repairs. Motion by Miller, seconded by Nutter to approve the following roster changes: Shane Hoffman, and Tyrone Moore resigned from the Fire Department; Tanya Clark and Ann Jones resigned from the Rescue Squad; Andrew Dehne, Kurt Powles, Austin Jones, Thomas Ritter, Timothy Goepfert, Echo Linhart, Hali Bennett, James Flint, and Ashton Flanagan who have all completed the Rescue Squad Ride-a-long Program, were approved as trainees. Motion carried unanimously. Kurt Powles and Bruce Sorensen presented the Maintenance Report and Water/Wastewater Report respectively. Health Board – it was noted that an updated “time line” for compliance on the Chambers property should be available at the January meeting.

            Gary Wockenfuss, addressed the Council offering the school’s support in the city’s venture of applying for available federal funding to provide infrastructure projects that enable and encourage K-8 children in Nebraska to safely walk and bike to school. Committee members Miller and Mozena provided a brief tentative summary of the proposed project for the Safe Routes to School program, which would include extending the concrete trail to connect multiple school facilities, replacing deteriorated sidewalks and adding new sidewalks along the school routes to meet ADA and other safety provisions, crosswalks at all four intersections around the school and installing speed radar signs near the school. Following discussion of the same, a motion was made by Mozena, seconded by Miller to adopt Resolution No. 13-09, which authorizes the City of Weeping Water to apply for assistance from the Safe Routes to School Program. Motion carried unanimously.

            Motion by Frew, seconded by Nutter to decline the requests for additional street lights near the 300 block of West River Street and near South Elm and Q Streets. Motion carried unanimously.

            It was noted that the required community service has been completed by individuals involved in recent vandalism.

            The following Ordinance was presented: ORDINANCE NO. 614

AN ORDINANCE TO REVISE ALL OF THE ORDINANCES OF THE CITY OF WEEPING WATER BY ADOPTING THE NEBRASKA BASIC CODE OF ORDINANCES, 2013; TO REPEAL PRIOR ORDINANCES; TO REQUIRE FILINGS; AND TO PROVIDE AN EFFECTIVE DATE.   Motion by Frew, seconded by Miller that the statutory rules be suspended so that Ordinance No. 614 might be introduced, read by title and adopted. Motion carried with Mozena, Frew, Nutter and Miller voting aye. Nays: None. Said Ordinance will be posted in the manner provided by law, with a true, correct and complete copy being on file in the City Clerk’s Office.

            Members of the Council were advised that the City received an allocation of $12,000 from the Day Trust for fire and rescue equipment.

            Following discussion of the areas proposed to be included in the upcoming One and Six Year Street Improvement Plan, which consists of general maintenance and several one or two block areas of milling and asphalt overlay, it was agreed to pursue preparation of said proposed plan for the ensuing year and to schedule a public hearing at 5:45 p.m., on January 13, 2014 to consider action on the same.

            Motion by Frew, seconded by Miller to approve the proposal for employee health care with United Healthcare for the ensuing year. Motion carried unanimously

            Copies of the minutes of the Library Board Meeting were distributed for Council review.

            As part of the annual reorganization meeting a motion was made by Nutter, seconded by Miller approve the following Appointments and Standing Committees for the ensuing year: Maintenance Supt.-Kurt Powles; City Clerk/Treasurer-Kay Gerdes; Deputy Clerk-Linda Fleming; City Attorney-Firm of Svoboda & Chebatoris; City Street Superintendent-Dennis C. Graham; Water/Sewer Maintenance-contracted with PeopleService; City Council President-Ray Frew; Water/Sewer Committee-Kelly Nutter and Lawrence Mozena; Streets/Alleys Committee-Ray Frew and Mitch Miller; Finance Committee-Mayor, Clerk and all Council Members; City Depositories-Farmers & Merchants Bank and First Nebraska Bank, Weeping Water, Nebraska. Motion carried unanimously. Following review of the City Boards & Committees, it was noted that the following have agreed to term renewals, which met with full council approval:-Tina Mogensen-Pool Board; Randall Beins, William Cover, and Leona Andes-Planning Board; Helen Burton-Housing Board, and Daryl Ervin was added to the Communications Board as the Fire Department representative.

            Motion by Frew, seconded by Miller to approve the following claims: Bond int pmt/wire fee-1,193.75; Farmers & Merchants Bk, equip loan pmts-13,701.57; Salaries-10,502.43; Ameritas, emp ben-1,418.98; BHHC, ins pkg pmt-5,396.67; Utilities: OPPD-4,001.79, Black Hills Energy-267.14, Windstream-706.29, Verizon-116.45; Blue Cross, Blue Shield, ins-6,150.59; D. Hall, animal cont-500.00; EFTPS, emp whlg-2,938.88; Nebr. Dept. of Rev., sales tax, whlg-1,568.92; Svoboda & Chebatoris, prof-996.00; United Healthcare, ins-331.13; Cass County Refuse, reimb-8,549.71; PeopleService, prof-12,763.00; Post Office, pstg-191.00; Banyon Data Systems, prof-195.00; Reliable, off sup-305.51; JP Cooke Co., sup-65.50; Chamber of Commerce, mtg-12.00; Wirebuilt, prof-150.00; Columbus Telegram, publ-18.09; Stop N Shop, fuel-579.19; Meeske Hardware, rep/maint-844.47; Wex Bank, fuel-384.91; Meeske Auto Parts, rep/maint-78.96; Husker Chem Sales, sup-66.00; Cross Dillon Tire, rep-901.38; Palfleet Truck Equipment, maint-433.00; Fireguard, equip-2,634.83; Moore Medical, sup-5,036.04; Print Like Flint, sup-261.50; Matheson Tri Gas, sup-161.13; Keckler Oil, rep-460.90; General Fire & Safety, sup-123.00; Derby’s Htg & Air, rep-130.00; America’s Fence Store, rep-2.43; A. Morlan, mlg-136.73; EMS Billing, reimb-407.71; Nebr. U.C. Fund, unemp-19.87; American Legal Publishing, prof-650.00; Olsson Associates, prof-880.14; Baker & Taylor Co., bks-614.18; One Call Concepts, serv-7.85; MWC, Recycling equip-27,500.00; Lawn Order, maint-206.00; Business Forms & Accounting, sup-394.39; Blake’s Pharmacy, sup-68.36; Choice Electric, cap

imp-1,041.00; Papillion ALS, reimb-232.00; Langfeld Overhead Door, rep-350.00. Motion carried unanimously.

            Motion by Nutter, seconded by Miller to adjourn. Motion carried unanimously.



/s/ Howard Stubbendieck, Mayor

/s/ Kay Gerdes, City Clerk