Weeping Water Nebraska




JULY 10, 2017

Mayor Michael Barrett called the monthly meeting of the Weeping Water City Council to order at 6:00 p.m., on July 10, 2017 at City Hall with the following members of the council answering roll:  Lawrence Mozena, Ray Frew and Kelly Nutter.  Absent:  Timron Gilfert.  Notice of the meeting was given in advance thereof by publication in the July 6, 2017 edition of the Plattsmouth Journal.  The posted location of the Open Meetings Act was noted by the Mayor.  Motion by Frew, seconded by Nutter to approve the minutes of the June 12, 2017 meeting.  Ayes:  Frew, Nutter and Barrett.  Nays:  None.  Abstain:  Mozena.  Absent:  Gilfert.

Open Forum-Tobacco Free Cass County discussed and distributed information to the council regarding creating a Tobacco-Free/Smoke-Free Park.  Erin with Ball Insurance addressed additional insurance coverages that are available for Fire and Rescue Personnel.

MONTHLY REPORTS:  Fire-5 calls for the month.  Justin Moore, Neil Huskey, Tyron Moore, Rayce Hoole, Jeremy Ridge, Jeremy Essary, Brad Schreiner, Zachary Purcell and Jacob Patton successfully completed Fire School this past May.  Motion by Mozena, seconded by Frew to accept the applications of Brandon Oliver and Jon Dehne to the Fire Department.  Ayes:  Mozena, Frew and Nutter.  Nays:  None.  Absent:  Gilfert.  Trent Medley and Ron Taylor are no longer on the department.  Rescue-An EVOC class will be held at PCS Phosphate on July 27th and July 29th..  Discussion was held regarding training needed in order to operate the rescue squad.  Kurt Powles and Bruce Sorensen presented the Maintenance Report and Water/Wastewater Report respectively.  Motion by Mozena, seconded by Nutter to approve funds to help cover the costs of replacing the existing sidewalk on S. Randolph Street from the Walking Trail to the Coop alley.  Motion carried with all members of the council voting aye.  Absent:  Gilfert.  Health Board Report-new complaints on properties were discussed and will be addressed.

Motioned by Mozena, seconded by Frew to accept Linda Rhodes to the Housing Authority Board.  Motion carried with Nutter, Mozena and Frew voting aye.  Nays:  None.  Absent: Gilfert.   Sherry Kunz was elected to the Board last month, but declined.

Motion by Frew, seconded by Mozena to purchase two doggy stations for the campground at a cost of $99 per unit.  Motion passed with all members of the council voting aye.  Absent:  Gilfert

The council declined pursuing the purchase of property located on E. Eldora Avenue owned by Tom Randolph.

Motion by Mozena, seconded by Frew to approve the closing of P Street, from S. East to S. Elm, on July 21st and 22nd from 7 am – 5 pm, for a vendor show.  Motion carried with Mozena, Frew and Nutter voting aye.  Nays:  None.  Absent:  Gilfert.

Motion by Mozena, seconded by Nutter to adopt Resolution No. 17-07, which authorizes an Interlocal Agreement for insurance renewal coverage with a 90 day Notice only through the League Association of Risk Management (LARM).  Motion carried with Frew, Nutter and Mozena voting aye.  Nays:  None.  Absent:  Gilfert.

Concerns regarding creek bank erosion along a portion of North Commercial Street were addressed and will continue to be pursued.

Motion by Mozena, seconded by Frew to deny the request of Larry Vogler to change zoning on property parcel number 130064963 from R2 to TA.  Motion passed with all members of the council voting aye.  Absent:  Gilfert.

Motion by Mozena, seconded by Frew to approve the Sales Tax Committee’s proposal for distribution of sales tax revenue for 2017-18, which includes allocations for the rescue squad loan payment, the auditorium loan payment, motor vehicle tax allocation, street improvements allocation and economic development allocation.  Motion carried unanimously.  Absent:  Gilfert.  The council denied the request to set up a separate checking account for the economic development allocation.

Ballfield signs and changes to Ordinance 617 were tabled for further review.

It was noted that the following permit activity was approved:  Building Permit:  Smetter Custom Homes-New Home; Trapper Cave-Accessory Building-larger than 10 x 12.  Miscellaneous Permit:  Mitchell Ross-Accessory Building. 

Correspondence was presented for council review after which motioned by Mozena, seconded by Nutter to approve the following claims:  Salaries-17,296.35; NE Dept of Rev, sls tx, whlg, ldg tx-2,276.62; Ameritas, emp ret-605.40; Utilities: Black Hills Energy-236.71; Windstream-655.93; Verizon-139.76; OPPD-5,622.22; EFTPS, whlg-4,716.59; United Healthcare, ins-4,580.10; PeopleService, prof-13,148; Cass County Refuse, reimb-10,739.70; Post Office, ptg-200; PSN, prof-86.01; Farmers & Merchants Bank, prin pmt, wire fees-5,030; Cede & Co, bd pmt-1,157.50; Anderson Ford, rep-215.96; S & R Wilson Family Farm, annual alloc-1,000; Asphalt Maintenance, imp-54,915; Triple R Welding, rep-40; J Clark Heating & Cooling, rep-335; Matheson Tri-Gas, sup-58.50; Collin Heath, ump fee-1,560; Tribal Kitchen, ec dev rebate-2,450; IIMC, dues-160; Mary Mozena, reimb-795; Chamber of Commerce, mtg-12; Wirebuilt, prof-150; Meeske Hardware, rep/maint-647.59; NE UC Fund, unemp ins-53.43; Columbus Telegram, publ-36.95; Office Depot, sup-191.53; Roger Johnson, prof-2,372.12; Kerford Limestone, sup-368.39; WW Express Lane, fuel-414.82; Stop N Shop, fuel-830.41; Meeske Auto, sup-46.69; Nielsen Fertilizer, sup-80; Keckler Oil, rep-129.94; Kubota, sup-5.66; United Rentals, rental-686.80; Barco, sup-271.14; Grimm’s Gardens, sup-766.72; West E Con, sup-953.80; Kerns Excavating, prof-4,347.45; One Call, lct fees-8.31; Olsson Assoc, prof-1,587.75; HD Supply, equip-1,998; EMS Billing, reimb-202.08; Aqua Chem, sup-463.90; Umpire Fees:  K White-90; P Barrett-95; P Weber-100; S Mozena-275; K Barrett-50; A Bickford-50; T Heller-45; J Strong-90; Eagle Service, sup-210; Husker Chem Sales, maint-828; Awards Unlimited, sup-238; Bruce Lawson Trucking, prof-160; Baker & Taylor, books-610.54; Demco, sup-264.23.  Motion carried with all members of the council voting aye.  Absent:  Gilfert.

Meeting adjourned at 8:35 p.m.


/s/Michael Barrett, Mayor

/s/Linda Fleming, City Clerk